Friday, February 1, 2019

Reading Challenge for the New Year

My amazing bookish friends Taylor from Stay on the Page and Cody started a very fun year-long reading challenge for some AMAZING authors. They spent the time creating a fun blog to go along with the challenge where you can see the updates and giveaways. The blog is Beckminavidera and trust me there is a reason for this unique name:

"Beckminavidera is a combination of four Young Adult authors (Becky Albertalli, Jasmine Warga, David Arnold and Adam Silvera) who all debuted in 2015 together. As an inseparable group of friends, they created their own sort of ship name known as Beckminavidera." - Taken from
Beckminavidera

I love every author mentioned and incorporated into this challenge, however, I have not read every single book scheduled. I am excited to either read these new books or reread some of my favorites.


The month of January was a busy one, so I unfortunately did not get to participate in the read along and chat, but I am looking forward to Mosquitoland.


Have you guys read any of these books?

Wednesday, January 30, 2019

Co-Blogger Announcment

Hello readers! Today I have some very fun and exciting news, there will be someone new joining my blog. It's been a long time coming, and after my first year of university, I found it to be a real struggle to keep up with my blog posts. During one of my lectures, I met my co-blogger. She's absolutely fantastic, and we really started talking after we completely fangirled over some of our favorites. 

 I know that I was not as active this past year, but I hope this could all start to change! The purpose of this post is to introduce my new Co-Blogger so that once she starts posting on OUR (going to take some time getting used to that) it won't be a surprise to your guys. 


SO without further ado here is Serena...

Friday, October 12, 2018

ARC Review


Wow, it's been forever since my last review... BUT that is okay because I am super happy to be reviewing What if it's Us by Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera. 



Title: What if it's Us 
Author: Becky Albertalli & Adam Silvera
Publication Date: October 9th, 2018
Publisher: Harper Teen 
Pages: 448 pages
Format: ARC
Description: Arthur is only in New York for the summer, but if Broadway has taught him anything, it’s that the universe can deliver a showstopping romance when you least expect it.
Ben thinks the universe needs to mind its business. If the universe had his back, he wouldn’t be on his way to the post office carrying a box of his ex-boyfriend’s things.
But when Arthur and Ben meet-cute at the post office, what exactly does the universe have in store for them?
Maybe nothing. After all, they get separated. 
Maybe everything. After all, they get reunited. 
But what if they can’t quite nail a first date . . . or a second first date . . . or a third?
What if Arthur tries too hard to make it work . . . and Ben doesn’t try hard enough? 
What if life really isn’t like a Broadway play? 

But what if it is?


When I found out that there was going to be a collaboration between Becky Albertali and Adam Silvera I freaked out. Both authors hold very dear places in my heart, so I was sure that this book would just be astounding. What if it's Us met all my expectations. This book brought humor, pop culture references, and heartbreak together in a way that felt new and original.

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

Books that come out today

Have you noticed a lot of our most anticipated YA books get released on Tuesdays? Well if you haven't, now you have. A lot, and I mean a lot of books get released on Tuesdays. Now you readers will have the intel on what books get released today, or at least my eagerly anticipated released books.

So welcome to my "Release Day" September 18th edition...

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Blog tour ~ Mirage



Hello readers! I know it's been quite some time, but today I am excited to announce that I was apart of the Mirage Blog Tour hosted by the lovely people over at Raincoast books. Today on my stop I will be sharing with you my review and a brief excerpt. Enjoy!



Title: Mirage
Author: Somaiya Daud
Publication Date: August 28th, 2018
Publisher: Flatiron
Pages: 320 pages
Format: Advanced Readers Copy
Description:In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire, eighteen-year-old Amani is a dreamer. She dreams of what life was like before the occupation; she dreams of writing poetry like the old-world poems she adores; she dreams of receiving a sign from Dihya that one day, she, too, will have adventure, and travel beyond her isolated moon.

But when adventure comes for Amani, it is not what she expects: she is kidnapped by the regime and taken in secret to the royal palace, where she discovers that she is nearly identical to the cruel half-Vathek Princess Maram. The princess is so hated by her conquered people that she requires a body double, someone to appear in public as Maram, ready to die in her place.

As Amani is forced into her new role, she can’t help but enjoy the palace’s beauty—and her time with the princess’ fiancĂ©, Idris. But the glitter of the royal court belies a world of violence and fear. If Amani ever wishes to see her family again, she must play the princess to perfection...because one wrong move could lead to her death.
Disclaimer: I have received a free copy of this book from the publishing house and chose to review it. This in no way impacts my opinion of the novel.

Kirkus wrote "Though the machinations of politics and identity create a slowly burning narrative, readers will appreciate the rich world and prose built by a much-needed diverse voice." and I'd have to say that I completely agree with this statement. The world building of this book was phenomenal, and though I sometimes found myself lost among the politics, it didn't make the story any less interesting. The characters also had great character building and story lines.

This book is action pack filled with raging internal conflicts due to the way the world is ran. However, that did not lead away from the romance that was within this book. The book's romance wasn't a focal point, nor did it draw away from the main plot. However, it was there and it was done in a way that supported the story. The romance also allowed for the story to have a little lightheartedness to it. 

My only complaint is that of which I mentioned in the first paragraph, due to the politics I found it to be a little slow at times. However, it did not take away from my reading experience whatsoever.

All in all, I would highly recommend this book to fantasy lovers, and everyone above. This book is lyrical and I cannot wait to read the sequel to Mirage.


Prologue
He is the only one of his family without the daan. They say this makes him ideal; no traditional markings on his face to identify him should he die. No way to trace him back to his family. He is young, not yet fifteen, too young for the daan ceremony. This is what she says to him when she comes to choose him.
That he is young and that he is skilled and that he is steady. This, she says, is all that matters.
He does not feel young. He feels hungry, the sort of hungry that gnaws at him day and night, until it is so much his companion he does not know how to live without it. He feels hard, because he knows how to take a beating, how to fall just so when a guard hits him with a baton. He feels angry, so angry, the sort of anger that does not need fuel.
He is invisible in a sea of invisible faces.
The crowd is silent, but then the crowds at these events are always silent. They are solemn. Too solemn. The nobles sit on velvet cushions behind gold rope, but those who stand, who look up at the podium waiting for her to appear, they are the poor. The hungry. The weak. They are here because they must be here.
The makhzen titter among themselves like jeweled birds, gowns glittering in the sunlight, scabbards flashing as men shift in the uncomfortable summer air. It is a wonder any of them are Andalaan; they all look Vathek now. They have accepted Vathek rule. They would not dress so, not if they truly were Andalaan in their hearts.
He thinks of his younger sister as he moves through the crowd. Dead for two summers now, her stomach bloated from hunger. His father, long gone, too weak to support them, to stay.
He has one sister left, and a brother besides, and his mother. All to be taken care of after this. She’d sworn. A husband for Dunya. A cottage away from the city for them all, with access to grain and a garden, and mayhap even livestock. Away from everything they know, but a chance for a new life.
His hands sweat. He has trained for this, he is ready, but he has never taken a life.
The blood never dies, he remembers. The blood never forgets.
This is for a higher purpose — one more important than his life, more important than any life. These things must be done, he thinks. In the name of Andala. In the name of freedom.
He marvels, as she climbs the steps to the dais, that one who looks so much like his kin is capable of causing such terror. He has heard the stories, knows that these things are often twisted through the telling. But his life, the lives of his siblings and neighbors, bear witness to some truth. The occupation is cruel. Its heirs crueler still.
The sun flashes against the silver metal of his blaster. He lifts it, aims, fires.
Twice.


Wednesday, May 16, 2018

WoW


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.
This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Blog Tour~Furyborn


Hello readers! I know it's been quite some time, but today I am excited to announce that I was apart of the Furyborn Blog Tour hosted by the lovely people over at Raincoast books. Today on my stop I will be sharing with you guys my review and a brief Q & A with the author herself, Claire Legrand. Enjoy!



Title: Furyborn {Empirium #1} 
Author: Claire Legrand 
Publication Date: May 22nd, 2018 
Publisher: SourceFire Books
Pages: 512 pages
Format: ARC received from Raincoast books
Description: When assassins ambush her best friend, the crown prince, Rielle Dardenne risks everything to save him, exposing her ability to perform all seven kinds of elemental magic. The only people who should possess this extraordinary power are a pair of prophesied queens: a queen of light and salvation and a queen of blood and destruction. To prove she is the Sun Queen, Rielle must endure seven trials to test her magic. If she fails, she will be executed...unless the trials kill her first.
A thousand years later, the legend of Queen Rielle is a mere fairy tale to bounty hunter Eliana Ferracora. When the Undying Empire conquered her kingdom, she embraced violence to keep her family alive. Now, she believes herself untouchable--until her mother vanishes without a trace, along with countless other women in their city. To find her, Eliana joins a rebel captain on a dangerous mission and discovers that the evil at the heart of the empire is more terrible than she ever imagined.
As Rielle and Eliana fight in a cosmic war that spans millennia, their stories intersect, and the shocking connections between them ultimately determine the fate of their world--and of each other.
Disclaimer: I have received a free copy of this book from the publishing house and chose to review it. This in no way impacts my opinion of the novel.

I believe Furyborn is going to be one of those books that people are either going to love or they are going to hate. They aren't going to hate it for the story or the characters, but more for not being able to connect with the authors writing style. It's told in a unique way that generally speaking, I didn't have a problem with. However, I have been exposed to the author's middle-grade work, which though the content is different, style same. So I could understand why someone may not be able to connect with it right away or at all.